The settlement was recorded in 1548 as a part of the domain of Ciceu Fortress that belonged to the princes of Moldavia.
The wooden church named “The Entry of the Holy Mother into the Temple” belong to the Orthodox community. In 1708 it was transferred to the Greek-Catholic community by the authorities, so it could be much older.
The architecture of the church is similar to other churches in the region, having a pronaos, nave and Sanctuary. The oak pillars are extended at their corners in order to form supporting brackets for the very flared roof.
The tower, square at the bottom, is above the nave. It continues with a watchtower enclosed by a high parapet that has two side arcades on the top. These support the pyramidal spire.
The exterior walls are decorated with the raised twisted rope, the most common
decorative motif of these wooden churches. The same motif appears on the frame of the entrance door; it continues in the form of a spiral around a central angled cavity and ends at the bottom with two rosettes, beautifully ornamented.
The paintings are not well preserved, while the iconographic structure bordered by floral friezes can be hardly distinguished.
The lively colors range from bright red to orange, and dark blue to white, and can be seen in the scene that re resents The Tree of Life clearly marked by Radu Munteanu’s style of painting.
The Iconostasis panels are bordered with beautiful
garlands of poppies and field flowers. A scene in which Jesus has angel wings is guarded by two seraphs. It is placed above the Holy Doors and marks out this Iconostasis from those of other churches.
The Sanctuary is also unique as its vault is painted with stars in the shape of dotted flowers.
The church was restored several times over the years. It houses some wooden icons donated by believers around 1822 and 1846 and a few old religious books of great value.